Announcing the WTS-LA 2023 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to all the well-deserved awardees! 

  • Kasey Shuda, WTS-LA Myra L. Frank Memorial Graduate Scholarship
  • Monisha Reginald, WTS-LA Myra L. Frank Memorial & SCAG Graduate Scholarship
  • Alejandra Gutierrez, AECOM Richard S. Newman Scholarship 
  • Julia Garcia, BYD Build Your Dreams Scholarship 
  • Claire Park, HNTB Scholarship 
  • Lourdes Alvarez, Skanska Scholarship 
  • Lakshmy Narayanan, Access Services Scholarship 
  • Nidhi Bhosale, Arcadis Future Woman in Transportation Scholarship 
  • Yu-Chen Chu, Berg & Associates, Inc. Scholarship 
  • Casey Chung, Kimley-Horn Scholarship  
  • Celia Escobar, Stantec Scholarship
  • Haoyue Wang, PMCS Scholarship 
  • Rebecca Saavedra Swint, The Solis Group Scholarship 
  • Seula Lee, TY Lin Scholarship 
  • Maria Barquera, WTS-LA Ava Doner Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Julie Sevilla, WTS-LA Ava Doner Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Alexandra Fung, Jacobs Scholarship 
  • Liubov Masliy, Zephyr Rail Scholarship
  • Lissette Castillo, Bechtel Scholarship 
  • Catarina Montez, PGH Wong Engineering Scholarship
Community College-Trade School
  • Karen Waters, WTS-LA Board of Directors Scholarship
  • Lindsey Chen, WTS-LA Community College-Trade School Scholarship
High School 

Seven high school students received scholarships in 2023. 

  • WTS-LA Joan G. Wood Memorial Scholarship 
  • WTS-LA Marilyn J. Reece Memorial Scholarship 
  • WSP Bright Futures Scholarship 
  • Anser Advisory Scholarship 
  • Atlas Scholarship 
  • Morgner Construction Management Scholarship 
  • O2EPCM, Inc. Diversity Scholarship 

About the WTS-LA Scholarship Program 

WTS-LA is a leader in supporting and mentoring the next generation of transportation professionals in Southern California. For more than three decades, we have awarded scholarships to deserving women entering the transportation field. Over the past decade, our chapter has awarded over 100 scholarships worth over half a million dollars through the generosity of our members and donors.  

In 2022, WTS-LA awarded $105,000 in competitive academic scholarships to women in high school, community college, undergraduate, and graduate programs in transportation-related fields. 

      Scholarship Applications 

      The scholarships are competitive, and applications are evaluated on the following criteria: transportation career goals; academic record, including curriculum and grades; commitment to transportation, as demonstrated by extracurricular activities and/or work experience; writing skills; and recommendations.

      We offer scholarships for high school, community college/trade school, and undergraduate and graduate university students. Please see the scholarship fact sheet for more information.

      WTS-LA established these scholarships to encourage women to pursue career paths in transportation or a related field. The minimum selection criteria are as follows:

      1. Open to women and non-binary people 
      2. GPA of 3.0 or higher 
      3. Currently enrolled in a community college/trade school, undergraduate, or graduate degree program in a transportation-related field, such as transportation engineering, planning, construction, project/program/construction management, finance or logistics, or in the field of environmental planning and science
      4. Plans to pursue a career or degree in a transportation-related field or in environmental planning
      5. Enrolled in a school in Los Angeles County or have residency in Los Angeles County
      Community College / Trade School Scholarship

      Established in 2018, the community college/trade school scholarship encourages women who are obtaining an associate's degree or skills toward a career in, or an undergraduate degree in, a transportation-related field.  

      Undergraduate - Ava Doner Memorial Scholarship 

      The Ava Doner Memorial Scholarship, established in 2000, honors Ava Doner, who was a wonderful role model and mentor to many women in the transportation industry. She was a pioneer in business and helped establish organizations to encourage the growth and development of aspiring women entrepreneurs and found time to support them during her entire career.

      Graduate - Myra L. Frank Memorial Scholarship 

      Established in 2005, the Myra L. Frank Memorial Graduate Scholarship is awarded to women pursuing graduate studies in transportation, planning or a related field. This scholarship honors Myra L. Frank, who was instrumental in the founding of the WTS/Los Angeles chapter and actively served as a WTS member for over 15 years. Mrs. Frank was dedicated to her role as a WTS mentor and supported WTS in all of its programs during her career. 

      For more detailed information on the scholarship program, contact our scholarship committee at [email protected].  

      Opportunities to Sponsor Scholarships 

      Aside from providing significant financial support to students seeking assistance to cover rising education costs, sponsoring scholarships provide several benefits for donors. Donors will be invited to attend special WTS events, receive special acknowledgements, and have the opportunity to participate in the selection of their scholarship recipient. Donors will also have opportunities to remain engaged with their scholarship recipient following her selection.  Find out more about sponsoring a scholarship here.

      We invite corporations of all sizes, public agencies, and individuals to support our scholarship program. 

      For Scholarship Sponsors/Donors       DONATE NOW