Chapter Awards & Recognitions

Applications are open!  Submit by December 15, 2023 to Barb Arens ([email protected]) and Lauren Warren ([email protected]). The applications are open to members and non-members alike and are a great way to honor those who support our organization’s goals and heighten awareness of WTS in the transportation community.  The following provides a summary of the award categories:

  • Member of the Year:  Recognizes a WTS member who has made extraordinary contributions to the success of the organization.  | doc | pdf
  • Woman of the Year:   Honors a woman who is an outstanding role model and has contributed to the advancement of women and minorities in transportation.   | doc | pdf
  • Employer of the Year: Recognizes a business for its support of the goals and purpose of WTS.   | doc pdf
  • Rosa Parks Diversity Award:  Honors an individual, group, or organization that has made significant contributions in promoting diversity and cultural awareness within their organization, the transportation industry, or in a project or activity that supports the goals and mission of WTS.   | doc | pdf
  • Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: Honors an innovative transportation project or service that improves the quality of life for its users and the community.   | doc | pdf
  • Honorable Ray LaHood Award:   Honors a man who has led by example and has sought to advance and advocate for women in his organization.   | doc | pdf

Nominations must be typed and have the cover sheet completed.

NOTE: The Equity, Diversity + Inclusion Subcommittee on Scholarship + Awards has incorporated a new, optional demographics section for all applications – this is NOT part of the judging process.  The winners will be presented at the WTS Michigan Scholarship & Awards banquet in Spring 2024.  Winners from the Michigan Chapter will also advance to the WTS International level to compete.

Recently Awarded

Previous Winners


Member of the Year

2022 Lauren Warren, PE, PTOE, PMP: Cincar Consulting Group

2021 Barb Arens, PE, PTOE: Cincar Consulting Group

2014  Jasmin Sisson

2012  Christina Branch

2010  Barbara Arens

2008  Sarah Binkowski

2007  Alicia Evans Suber

2006  Dana Suggitt

2005  Sue Dickinson

2004  Jane Kent 

2003  Karl Kleitsch

2002  Sielen S. Namdar

2001  Annette Kim Dentel 

2000  Cindy Durrenberger 

Woman of the Year

2022 Laura Mester, CPA

2021  Kim Nowack, PE Mackinac Bridge Authority

2014  Dr. Theresa Ahlborn, Michigan Tech

2012  Megan Owens, TRU

2010  Lovevett Williams

2008  Gretchen Driscoll Mayor of City of Saline

2007  Sandra Draggoo, CEO/Executive Director of CATA

2006  Jacqueline Shinn, Chief Deputy Director of MDOT

2005  Senator Debbie Stabenow

2004  Linda Fish and Debbie Huntley

2003  Gloria Jeff and Governor Jennifer Granholm

2002  Terri Blackmore

2001  Congresswoman Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick

2000  Representative Ruth Ann Jamnick

Employer of the Year

2022 Cincar Consulting Group (C2G)

2021  Michael Baker, Intl

2012  Road Commission for Oakland County

2010  Parsons Brinckerhoff Michigan, Inc.

2007  Spalding DeDecker Associates, Inc. 

2006  DLZ Michigan, Inc.

2005  Ann Arbor Transportation Authority 

2004  Michigan Department of Transportation

2003  Washtenaw Area Transportation Study 

2002  Parsons Brinckerhoff Michigan, Inc.

2001  Washtenaw County Road Commission

2000  Midwestern Consulting, LLC

Rosa Parks Diversity Award

2022 Paul Ajegba, PE

2021  Tasmin Malik

2012  Tiffany Gunter SEMCOG

2010  FHWA Michigan Division

2007  Detroit Department of Transportation

2006  Ann Arbor Transportation Authority

2005  Southeast Michigan Council of Governments

2004  Michigan Department of Transportation

Innovative Transportation Solutions Award

2022 I-69/I-475 Interchange Reconstruction

2021 Gross Ile Parkway (HNTB/Great Lakes Engineering/Wayne County/MDOT)

2014  Houghton/Hancock Transit Sustainability (Michigan Tech)

2012  Ride Connect

2010  I-75/9 Mile Road Design Build (MDOT) 

2008  Interurban Transit Partnership (The Rapid), SEMCOG and AATA Green Ridesharing program

2007  The People’s Express 

Honorable Ray Lahood Award

2022 Edwin Tatem

2021 Steve Gravlin, Michael Baker Intl