One of WTS-IE's primary goals is to provide scholarships to women pursuing careers in transportation. Each year, women with permanent residence in the Inland Empire or who are enrolled in a high school, college, or university located within the Inland Empire, are invited to apply for a scholarship. This includes high school seniors who plan to enroll in a two-year or four-year college. In 2021, WTS-IE awarded $50,000 in scholarships. Scholarship recipients are typically notified in December-January. Scholarship amounts to be awarded vary from $2,000 to $5,000.

The application period is closed. Applications for next year will be available in August 2024. 

Susan Van Note Memorial Scholarship - Undergraduate students and high school seniors

The Susan Van Note Memorial Scholarship was established in 2005 in memory of Susan Van Note, a founding member of the WTS-IE Chapter and a member of the Inland Empire transportation industry for more than 15 years. During her short lifetime, Susan always embraced each and every challenge with the utmost of enthusiasm and exceptional leadership skills. As Chief Financial Officer for San Bernardino County Transportation Agency (formerly SANBAG), her work earned the agency numerous awards, including the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award by the Government Finance Officers Association. Susan always displayed high work standards and a zest for life.

Helene M. Overly Scholarship - Graduate students

In memory of Helene M. Overly, the first Executive Secretary of WTS, the Board of Directors voted to name the annual WTS graduate scholarship, the Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship, to honor Helene for her dedicated service to WTS. Helene became a WTS member in 1981. She brought with her 15 years of experience in public service, tremendous organizational abilities, and a spirit of determination that helped WTS nearly double its membership in two years.

Questions? Contact our Scholarship Chair, Kimberly Barling, at [email protected].