To encourage women pursuing careers in transportation, the Greater Dallas/Fort Worth Chapter of WTS awards at least six local scholarships to graduate, undergraduate, community college, and high school students. These scholarships have been made possible through generous contributions from our corporate members.

Every year, the scholarships are competitive and based on the applicant’s specific transportation involvement and goals, job skills, and academic record. Minority candidates are encouraged to apply. Past applicants have backgrounds in civil, mechanical, electrical, and environmental engineering, as well as urban planning, public policy, public safety, and emergency response. Any students that may be eligible for the scholarships should apply!

2022-2023 Scholarship Winners Have Been Announced

  • Wanda J. Schafer Graduate Scholarship – Aiswarya Acharath Mohanakrishnan
  • Wanda J. Schafer Graduate Scholarship – Kawalpreet Kaur
  • Monique Pegues Graduate Leadership Scholarship – Anna Laura Harmjanz
  • Monique Pegues Graduate Leadership Scholarship – Sooin Kim
  • Transportation YOU Scholarship – Elizabeth Gazzam
  • Gorrondona & Associates, Inc./WTS High School Scholarship – Aujenae Jones
  • Gorrondona & Associates, Inc./WTS High School Scholarship – Molly Meyer
  • Gorrondona & Associates, Inc./WTS High School Scholarship – Kavya Shah
please join us at the annual awards & scholarship banquet on april 21, 2023, to celebrate their achievements.


    The 2022-2023 applications are available below. The 2022-2023 scholarship applications are due Friday, December 16th, 2022. To download applications, please click each category.

    Scholarship Categories:

    Our 2023 WTSI Foundation Scholarship Winners!

    • Helen M. Overly Memorial Graduate Scholarship – To be Announced
    • Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship – To be Announced


    Katelyn Heikkinen
    BGE, Inc.
    Phone:  (972) 464-4857
    Email: kheikkinen@bgeinc.com