WTS International Announces 2023 Award Honorees and Scholarship Recipients

Transportation Leaders and Students Recognized at Annual Gala 

ATLANTA (May 18, 2023) – Last week, WTS International and the WTS Foundation honored scholarship and annual award recipients during their Annual Gala, held at the Georgia Aquarium in conjunction with the 2023 WTS International Annual Conference: The Great Intersection, in Atlanta, GA. 

The annual recognition award winners represent the best and brightest in transportation innovation, effectiveness, and leadership, embodying the mission and vision of WTS. 

"It is an honor to recognize the individuals and organizations who continually demonstrate their excellence and influence in transportation. This year’s awardees embody the values integral to WTS: a commitment to building a diverse future workforce; instituting equity, diversity, and inclusion in their own organizations; closing the gap for professional women in transportation, and acting as allies, both personally and professionally,” said Jannet Walker-Ford, chair, WTS International Board of Directors. 

This year, WTS International also instituted a new award, the Eleanor Holmes Norton Award, designed to honor elected officials who are vital supporters and creators of effective transportation policy.  

Congratulations to the following organizations and leaders: 

Employer of the Year  
California High Speed Rail Authority 

Innovative Transportation Solutions Award  
Fare-Free Youth Transit: King County Metro 

Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award 
Veronica O. Davis, City of Houston 

Honorable Ray LaHood Award 
Stephen Gardner, CEO, Amtrak 

Member of the Year  
Barb Wells, CDM Smith and WTS Kansas City Chapter 

Eleanor Holmes Norton Award  
Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D- DC) 

Woman of the Year 
Marsha Bomar Anderson, Commissioner Emeritus, Atlanta DOT 

Mary Peters Inspirational Leader Award 
Therese McMillan 

Also honored at the 2023 Awards Gala were ten recipients of WTS Foundation scholarships. The WTS Foundation supports high school, undergraduate, and graduate level students pursuing studies in transportation-related fields. This year, the Foundation provided $50,000 dollars in funding at the event. Annually, the Foundation awards close to $700,000 in scholarships.  

"It takes a special person to model the values we want to see in our transportation workforce. This year’s award honorees are no exception – all our awardees and scholarship recipients are inspirational in their commitment to advance women, advance the industry, and advance a new generation of leaders” said Sara Stickler, President & CEO, WTS International. “It’s a pleasure to celebrate their dedication and talents.” 



Attract. Sustain. Connect. Advance. Women’s Transportation Seminar (WTS) International is the only organization dedicated to creating a more diverse, inclusive, and equitable transportation industry through the global advancement of women. WTS is: Advancing Women, Advancing Transportation. To learn more, visit www.wtsinternational.org.