2022–24 WTS International Standing Committees

The WTS International and WTS Foundation Standing Committees focus on advancing the WTS mission and vision.

WTS International Chapter Operations Task Force

Chair: Alexa Gangemi, HNTB

The purpose of the Chapter Operations Task Force is to address common and recurring chapter operational questions, provide standard recommendations and publish a comprehensive standard operating procedure (SOP) resource for use and reference by all WTS professional chapters. To develop and implement professional chapter agreements. 

WTS International DBE/Small Business Subcommittee

Chairs: Bridgette Beato, Lumenor Consulting and Odessa Phillip, Assedo Consulting

WTS International has formalized its program for women business owners and DBE organizations with the Entrepreneurial Program. In 2020, the Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Committee (DBE Committee) was formed at the International Board level in conjunction with the President & CEO and staff, to research, learn, and support DBE and women entrepreneurs. A subcommittee of the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee, this subcommittee works to provide a support network for women business owners to learn, grow, and promote their businesses and leadership careers. 

WTS International Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion Committee 

Chairs: Helen Tift McSwain, Rohadfox and Katharine Kelleman, Port Authority of Alleghany County 

The purpose of the WTS Diversity Committee is to define the diversity and inclusion strategic objectives for the WTS organization and its chapters. WTS defines diversity as the inclusion of differences and similarities from all categories of membership including ethnicity, age, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, geography and profession.  WTS defines inclusion as the action of making sure that everyone is welcomed, involved and engaged.  Read more about WTS International's ED&I Initiative and ED&I Committee updates here.

WTS International Workforce Development Task Force

Chair: Inez Evans, IndyGo

The WTS Workforce Development Task Force is a new WTS Committee that will focus on multimodal workforce development issues, professional development, succession planning, and strategic industry cooperation.  

WTS Foundation Educational Programming Committee

Chair: Yvonne Lopez-Diaz, HNTB

The Educational Programming Committee assists the WTS Foundation in developing and providing educational opportunities to young women pursuing careers in transportation and to attract students to transportation through STEAM related educational opportunities and activities, with a focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion. The Committee also supports chapter educational activities through best practices and activity development. 

WTS Foundation Scholarship Selection & Scholar Engagement Committee

Chair: Daveitta Knight, RS&H

The Scholarship Selection & Scholar Engagement Committee works to expand the number and types of scholarship and increase the financial value of scholarships provided to women pursuing education and careers in transportation.  The committee's mission is to engage former scholar recipients in a meaningful way to support their careers in transportation and report better metrics on scholarship recipients. 

WTS Foundation Student Engagement Committee

Chair: Odessa Phillip, Assedo Consulting 

The student engagement committee works to increase outreach and connection to students at trade schools, junior colleges, colleges and universities to ensure connection and involvement in WTS activities.