

Los Angeles Women's Transportation Seminar Recognizes Sector's Most Exceptional

Annual Awards Celebrate Current and Future Transportation Leaders



Los Angeles Women's Transportation Seminar, Photos © John Livzey, 2014

Los Angeles, California, November 15, 2013 -- The Los Angeles Area Chapter of WTS (formerly Women's Transportation Seminar) recognized the year's most outstanding transportation professionals and awarded nine academic scholarships totaling over \$30,000 to future transportation leaders at its 27th annual event at the Omni Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

Right now, Los Angeles is at the epicenter of transportation development," said WTS-LA Chapter President Lynda Bybee. "We're leading the nation. And our chapter is at the heart of this growth. Naturally, we're thrilled to recognize many of the transportation professionals driving this transformation, as well as the next generation of transportation professionals who will advance it," said WTS-LA Chapter President Lynda Bybee.

Among the awards is the Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG) inaugural \$2,000 annual scholarship recognizing a female student with demonstrated achievement and a passion for urban planning or public administration. In addition, WTS-LA Member of the Year James E. Moore II continued his steadfast support for the scholarship program, personally contributing \$3,000 to be divided amongst all of this year's scholarship winners. To visit our photo Gallery from this event, click <u>here</u>.

With hundreds of members of the greater Los Angeles transportation community in



Post Date : Mar. 7, 2014



attendance, the evening's emcees— Metro's Doug Failing, executive director of highway project delivery, and Martha Welborne, executive director of countywide planning presented the following awards:

Woman of the Year

Stephanie Wiggins, executive officer, congestion reduction demonstration, Metro

Employer of the Year

Port of Los Angeles

Innovative Transportation Award

Metro ExpressLanes

Member of the Year



James E. Moore II, vice dean, University of Southern California Viterbi School of Engineering

Educator of the Year

Margarita Aguilar, Global Environmental Sciences Academy, Phinneas Banning High School

Diversity Leadership Award

Linda B. Wright, executive officer, diversity and economic opportunity, Metro

Myra L. Frank Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Doreen Zhao, Master's in Urban and Regional Planning, UCLA

Jaimee Lederman, Ph.D in Urban Planning, UCLA

Ava Doner Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship

Andrina Sofia Dominguez, Bachelor's Degree in Policy, Planning, and Development with an emphasis in Sustainable Planning, USC Price School of Public Policy

Tiffany Huang, Bachelor's Degree in Civil Engineering, UCLA

Richard G. Newman AECOM Scholarship

Casey Le, Bachelor's Degree in Civil Engineering, UCLA

Port of Long Beach Leadership Scholarship

Vicky Hsu, Master of Public Policy, UCLA

Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG) Scholarship

Post Date : Mar. 7, 2014



Claudia Preciado, Master of Planning, USC Sol Price School of Public Policy

Joan G. Wood Memorial High School Scholarship

Flor Hernandez, Phineas Banning High School

PB Marty Rubin Memorial Scholarship

Eric Urrutia, Phineas Banning High School