2018 WTS San Diego County Awards

EMPLOYEE OF THE YEAR



IBI Group, Inc.

IBI stands for Intelligence, Buildings, and Infrastructure and takes a strong multidisciplinary approach to every project in order to define the cities of tomorrow. IBI Group is committed to supporting women and diversity within all aspects of company. IBI Global Women's Network was formed several years ago with the interest of building long-term mentorship and professional development programs to accelerate women's careers at IBI Group. Locally, IBI Group is a big supporter of our organization; supporting the 2018 WTS International Annual Conference through sponsorship, volunteers, and attendance.

WOMAN OF THE YEAR



Laurie Berman

Director, California Department of Transportation

Ms. Laurie Berman has made outstanding contributions to the transportation industry and is only the second woman-director of one of the largest State Departments of Transportation. Her stellar performance and leadership have made her an undisputed authority on Transportation in California. As the District Director of Caltrans, District 11, Laurie has worked tirelessly to provide more opportunities and advancement for women.

Laurie Berman is a leader of nearly 20,000 employees who build, maintain, and operate the 50,000 lane miles of California's transportation system.

ROSA PARKS DIVERSITY LEADERSHIP AWARD



Councilmember Georgette Gómez

City of San Diego, District 9

Councilmember Gómez was inaugurated to the San Diego City Council on December 12th, 2016, becoming the first queer Chicana to serve on the San Diego City Council and represent District 9. Ms. Gómez currently serves as the Chair of the San Diego Metropolitan Transit System, Chair of the City Council's Smart Growth and Land Use Committee, and Vice Chair of the City Council's Select Committee on Homelessness. She has been named as Woman of the Year in California's 80th Assembly District, and is a big advocate for transportation and infrastructure to ensure equitable access to services in disadvantaged communities.

HONORABLE RAY LAHOOD AWARD



Lecturer, San Diego State University

Mr. Bruce Urquhart has dedicated his professional life to continuously improving the field of transportation, and to the career development and advancement of the transportation industry professionals through mentoring, student involvement, career coaching and outstanding teaching at SDSU. Before WTS had a formal mentoring program, Bruce acted as a mentor to many young women who were pursuing the education and careers in transportation. He knows the importance of encouraging and supporting women in the traditionally male arena and does all that is in his power to level the playing field for women. As a faculty member at the SDSU, he is a strong supporter of the Student Chapter of WTS San Diego County.

MEMBER OF THE YEAR



Eleanor Gonzalez, P.E. Transportation Engineer, Caltrans, District 11

Eleanor Gonzalez has shown extraordinary commitment to our goals and chapter growth through her fundraising efforts. This year, Eleanor doubled the amount of Corporate Sponsorship over previous years; supporting the WTS International Conference hosted in San Diego to an amount over \$85,000. Eleanor led her team her team in the expansion of our sponsorship opportunities including the creation of new benefits for conference tours while preserving our local chapter benefits and value. Through her extensive coordination efforts we have recently established new partnerships with Professional Engineers in California Government (PECG) and North County Transit District (NCTD).

INNOVATIVE TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS AWARD



Oceanside Transit Center

The Oceanside Transit Center Third Track project was a major undertaking to expand and modernize the station and improve the train efficiency and on-time performance at a key transit center. The primary feature of the project was the addition of a third track and passenger platform. This addition allows for trains to pass through the station while two trains are boarding passengers on the other platforms. It provides increased rail capacity, improved operational flexibility and enhanced regional transit service.

ALTERNATIVE MODES & ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION AWARD



SR 15 Mid-City Centerline Rapid Transit Stations

This is San Diego's first freeway-level transit stations project along SR 15 at El Cajon Blvd and University Ave. Three miles of new transit-only lanes were also constructed within the existing SR 15 median. It includes outdoor elevators at platform levels, and four unique pedestrian bridges and stairs with sound panels. The project development team was highly collaborative from the early planning phases through to the completion of construction. This included women professionals in many of the phases of production.

TECHNOLOGY FOR TRANSPORTATION AWARD

Regional Mobility Hub Strategy

The Regional Mobility Hub Strategy exemplifies how collaboration and innovation have strengthened transportation planning in our region. Mobility Hubs are places of connectivity where transportation services, amenities, and supporting technologies come together to extend the reach of transit and provide communities with more mobility choices overall. Women transportation industry professionals played a major role in the development of the Regional Mobility Hub Strategy, from the SANDAG planners to the creative services staff and consultant support.

Congrats to all our winners!