WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


Video Library

Visit our YouTube channel for a full library of transportation videos!


Hang with Us...

"Like" us on Facebook for daily scoop!


Follow Us!

Want in on the WTS info super-highway?  Follow @WTS_Org

Print tgus Page

Industry Leaders Join WTS for Policy Symposium

Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx with WTS Policy Symposium Chair Norma Krayem, Senior Policy Advisor at Patton Boggs; WTS Foundation Chair Julia Kuhn; WTS Chair Dana Hook; Marcia Ferranto, WTS President & CEO

The 2013 WTS Transportation Policy symposium on Sept. 17, 2013, at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, DC, brought together high-profile transportation leaders across all modes, from both the public and private sectors, to discuss topics such as technology, public-private partnerships, and the future of high-speed rail, as well as present an opportunity for attendees to network and advance the industry through new knowledge and possible new strategic alliances. WTS International holds the policy symposium every few years in an effort to fulfill its mission to build the future of the transportation industry through the global advancement of women.


The symposium was chaired by Norma Krayem, Senior Policy Advisor for Patton Boggs, and included the following panels and speakers:

The Future of Aviation, Panel Discussion
Moderator: Susan Kurland, Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs, US Department of Transportation
Shelley M. Rubino, Vice President, Global Government Affairs, Airlines for America
Neil Planzer,Vice President, Air Traffic Management, Flight Services, Commercial Aviation Services, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
Paul J. Wiedefeld, A.E.E., CEO, Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport

Public-Private Partnerships, Best Practices Panel Discussion
Moderator: Jim Tymon, Staff Director, Highways and Transit Subcommittee of House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Senior Advisor to Chairman Bill Shuster
Sarah Kline, Research Director, Smart Growth America
Jennifer Aument, General Manager, North America, Transurban
Beverley Swaim-Staley, President and CEO, Union Station Redevelopment Corporation
Special Session
Anthony Foxx, Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation

ITS: Use of Technology, Panel Discussion
Moderator: Gregory Winfree, Acting Administrator, Research and Innovative Technology Administration

Sabrina Sussman, VP Membership and Development, ITS America
Patrick McGowan, President, Transportation North America, Schneider Electric

Freight and High-Speed Rail Networks
Moderator: Karen Hedlund, Deputy Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration
Karen Rae, Deputy Secretary for Transportation, NYS Governor's Office
Tracy Rosser, Senior Vice President, Transportation, Walmart US

Bob LaCroix, Chief of Corridor Development, Amtrak

Following the Policy Symposium was a special dinner reception to award the Honorable Ray LaHood with the 2013 WTS Navigator Award. Details about that event can be found here.




| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com