WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


Video Library

Visit our YouTube channel for a full library of transportation videos!


Hang with Us...

"Like" us on Facebook for daily scoop!


Follow Us!

Want in on the WTS info super-highway?  Follow @WTS_Org

Print tgus Page

Annual Awards Winners

Congratulations to our 2019 award winners! 

Member of the Year: Kim Curry


Kim Curry, P.E. received her Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the Missouri University of Science and Technology and has spent her entire career at Burns & McDonnell Engineering Company, Inc.  Kim has extensive experience in a range of capacities for transportation planning and studies, roadway and highway design, and site design for departments of transportation and municipalities. Her notable project experience includes serving as project manager for a number of highway improvement projects for the Kansas Department of Transportation. She also managed the award-winning Little Blue Parkway, an LPA project for the City of Independence, Missouri coordinated with the Missouri Department of Transportation. This multi-phased project spanned eight years and entailed conceptual planning, right-of-way plans, alignment, profile and drainage design, traffic studies and construction services. Her most recent experience has included serving as roadway segment design lead for design-build highway reconstruction projects.  In her free time, Kim enjoys taking Saturday morning walks, baking pies and sewing quilts.


Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Triveece Penelton


TriveecePenelton, AICP, is a city planner and public involvement innovator at Vireo. She is also the creator of the Digicate® software application for community engagement. Triveece has nearly 20 years of experienceand leads the company’s long-range planning and community engagement service lines. The local, county, state, and regional projects that she manages blend community planning with intensive public engagement, education, information sharing, and messaging. Prior to joining Vireo, Triveece served as a long-range planner with the City of Kansas City, Missouri’s Planning and Development Department. While at the City, she was responsible for planning activities happening in Kansas City’s Urban Core. Her work involved detailed analysis of changing community issues, challenges, and opportunities; urban design guideline implementation; assisting neighborhoods with grass roots initiatives, plan implementation, and other planning needs; coordinating with elected officials; and, developing close and long-term relationships with community leaders in the planning area’s 36 neighborhoods.


Woman of the Year: Melissa Cooper


Melissa Cooper, A.A.E, has served as the Manager of the Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport since March 2017.  Prior to her current position, she was the Field Maintenance at Kansas City International Airport, Deputy Director of the Johnson County Airport Commission serving as the Airport Manager for New Century Air Center and Johnson County Executive Airport and the Assistant Airport Manager at Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport in Kansas City, Missouri.  Prior to her positions in Airport Management, she worked as a Contractor with the FAA Central Region Runway Safety Program, as a System Controller for Vanguard Airlines, and a scheduler for Executive Beechcraft.  Melissa holds her commercial pilot certificate with an instrument rating.  She has a MS degree in aviation safety and a BS degree in aviation technology both from University of Central Missouri.


Employer of the Year: CDM Smith


CDM Smith is a global, transportation, water, environment, energy, and facilities firm offering lasting and integrated solutions to public and private clients worldwide. As a leading transportation provider, CDM Smith is among the top 25 transportation design firms, according to the Engineering-News Record. Partnering with all levels of federal, public, private, and international organizations, we work with clients to provide customized solutions that result in stronger economies, and more vibrant, thriving communities. Our 700 transportation professionals and nearly 5,000 cross-disciplinary, global resources provide a full menu of services across the entire project lifecycle. As a proud supporter of organizations such as Women in Transportation, our aim is to increase the presence of women in the transportation industry and raise awareness of how diverse ideas and perspectives benefit projects, teams, and communities around the nation.


Each year, WTS-KC honors exceptional women, members, employers and diversity leaders who exemplify the WTS mission of equity and access for women in transportation. Please contact Recognitions Chair, Stacey Lowe, for more information.

| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com