WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


Video Library

Visit our YouTube channel for a full library of transportation videos!


Hang with Us...

"Like" us on Facebook for daily scoop!


Follow Us!

Want in on the WTS info super-highway?  Follow @WTS_Org

Print tgus Page

Diane Woodend Jones Receives COMTO’s Women Who Move the Nation Honor

Diane Woodend Jones pictured here in the center with the COMTO award.

On Wednesday, March 22, 2018, in Washington, DC at the historic Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) held its 7th annual “Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation” awards ceremony. Diane Woodend Jones, Board Chair, WTS International, Chairman and Principal, Lea+Elliott, Inc. was among the impressive group of women honored.

Fifteen women from all sectors of the transportation industry were recognized and saluted for their contributions to the industry.

Several of the other honorees are also WTS members and supporters. The full list of 2018 Women Who Move the Nation honorees are:

  • Barbara Arens, Senior Vice President - Central Region Business Manager, WSP USA
  • Heather Barry, Vice President - Strategic Partnerships, SSP America
  • Rosa Beckett, Chief Administrative Officer, Jacksonville Aviation Authority
  • Jill Chen-Stober, Manager, Service Performance & Analysis, TriMet
  • Kim Day, CEO, Denver International Airport
  • Christy Hall, Secretary, South Carolina Department of Transportation
  • Ryland McClendon, Assistant General Manager of Communications and External Affairs, MARTA
  • Donna McNamee, Trustee, Laketran; Chair of Transit Board Members Committee, APTA
  • Diana Mendes, Senior Vice President, HNTB
  • Michelle Pourciau, Director, Baltimore City Department of Transportation
  • Leslie Richards, Secretary, PennDOT
  • Stephanie Wiggins, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, LA Metro
  • K. Jane Williams, Deputy Administrator, Acting Administrator, Federal Transit Administration
  • Lisa Winston-Hicks, Executive Vice President & General Counsel and Chairman of the Board, MV Transportation
  • Diane Woodend Jones, Chair, WTS International, Chairman and Principal, Lea+Elliott, Inc.


“It is a tremendous honor and privilege to receive the COMTO Women Who Move the Nation award along with the impressive women who received this distinguished recognition this year,” said Jones. “I am very grateful to have been selected and thrilled to be a part of the legacy of industry leaders that have been honored with this prestigious COMTO award.” 

COMTO inaugurated its Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation awards in 2012, starting a new tradition of recognizing the accomplishments and influence of today's outstanding women in transportation. The 2018 recipients join a long list of honorees who represent a broad range of professionals in the transportation industry.



| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com