WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


Video Library

Visit our YouTube channel for a full library of transportation videos!


Hang with Us...

"Like" us on Facebook for daily scoop!


Follow Us!

Want in on the WTS info super-highway?  Follow @WTS_Org

Print tgus Page

Annual Awards Gala Recognizes WTS Community and Raised More than $41,000 for Foundation

May 24, 2019 12:00 PM

Each year we award the people and organizations who make WTS and the transportation industry great; both for today; our recognition winners, and tomorrow; our scholarship winners. It was powerful to see so much support on Thursday, May 16, 2019, for the WTS Annual Awards Gala. 

Scholarships were awarded to kick off the night:

Brittany Nikole Montgomery, Ph. D, of the WTS Boston Chapter, received the Maggie Walsh, WTS International Chair, Leadership Legacy Scholarship.

Angela Edes Kitali, of WTS South Florida, received the Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship.

Kayli Senedak, of the WTS Northeast Ohio Chapter, received the Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates.

Gabrielle Wickizer, of the WTS Philadelphia Chapter, received the Sharon Banks Memorial Scholarship.

Martina Vannevel, of the WTS Portland Chapter, received the Junior College and Trade School Scholarship.

Kaylee Keegan, of the WTS Hampton Roads Chapter, received the Transportation You High School Scholarship.

The scholarship awardees’ speeches, videos, and thoughtful words reminded all in the room of the power of education and the importance of supporting the future of the transportation industry.

Later, Recognition Award winners were met with big cheers:

The Honorable Mary Peters received the first WTS Inspirational Leader Award. A video was shared that captured her career and illuminated her impact on the transportation field, that can be viewed here.  

Carol Barker, PE, Project Manager, Jacobs, for SunTrax CAV Test Facility, received the Innovative Transportation Solutions Award.

EnviroIssues received the Employer of the Year award. Amy Grotefendt, President and Elizabeth Faulkner, Associate Principal, took the stage to express their company’s mission.

The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission Women’s Network received The Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award. Melissa Orlandini, Shanna Letcher, Karen Muro, and Krissy Shuller took the stage to share their organization’s values.

Randy Iwasaki, Executive Director, Contra Costa Transportation Authority, received the Honorable Ray Lahood Award.

Valeria Shea, Director of Planning, Metro RTA, received the Member of the Year Award, representing the WTS Northeast Ohio Chapter.

To end an exciting evening, Nadine Lee, Chief of Staff, LA Metro, received the Woman of the Year Award.

Through the generous support of WTS Members and partners, the WTS Foundation received over $41,000 in donations and through its raffle. The WTS Foundation will continue to help support building the future of transportation through the global advancement of women.



The WTS Foundation, created in 2009, is the philanthropic arm of WTS International, and helps achieve its mission of equity and access for women in transportation.  The Foundation supports the next generation of transportation professionals by attracting young women to the industry through scholarships, education and research.




| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com