Advancing Women in Transportation


WTS-DC 2017 Scholarship Award Winners

The mission of WTS is to “transform the transportation industry through the advancement of women.” At WTS-DC, we feel that education is a vital tool to facilitate that advancement, and every year, WTS-DC awards scholarships to deserving young women who are studying transportation at undergraduate and graduate programs in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. As a chapter, we believe that giving scholarships is one of the most important things we do.

Donate to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund


Please help us continue to support young women as they embark upon their career education in the transportation industry by making a tax-deductible donation to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund. Donations may be made via check or PayPal at the link above. Please make checks payable to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund and mail to:

WTS-DC Chapter
P.O. Box 34097
Washington, DC 20043

If you or your organization are interested in sponsoring a particular scholarship in whole or in part, please contact Maheen Aziz, WTS-DC Scholarship and Fundraising Chair to discuss options for doing so. Thank you for your support!

2018 WTS-DC Scholarship Awards

Application Period Now Closed!

The 2018 WTS-DC scholarship application period is now closed! This year, we anticipate awarding a minimum of two graduate scholarships of up to $2,000 each, and two undergraduate scholarships of up to $2,000 each.
Recipients of the WTS-DC scholarships will then be nominated for WTS International recognitions—the Helene M. Overly Memorial Graduate Scholarship ($10,000), the Leadership Legacy Scholarship for Graduates ($5,000), the Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship ($5,000), and the Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates ($5,000).
Please direct any questions to the 


The chapter's 2017 scholarship recipients (set out below) were honored at the WTS-DC Holiday Party on Dec. 5, 2017. 

2018 Scholarship Recipients


Elham Shayanfar, University of Maryland


Caitlin Boyle, Catholic University of America

Jennifer Hopkins, University of Maryland

Sofie Rhoads, University of Maryland


Melissa Rossi, George Mason University

Jill Smith, University of Maryland


2018 WTS-DC Recognition Awards

WTS-DC recognizes the area's leading women who have had a significant impact on transportation, as well as prominent men and distinguished organizations in our nation's capital—public or private—that support the development, growth and advancement of women in transportation.
The period for submitting nominations for the 2018 WTS-DC Recognition Awards is now closed.
This year’s award categories are:
Member of the Year Award,
Woman of the Year Award,
Honorable Ray LaHood Award,
Employer of the Year Award,
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award, and
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award.


The chapter’s 2017 recognition and scholarship award recipients (set out below) were honored at the WTS-DC Holiday Party on Dec. 5, 2017.

2017 Recognition Award Recipients

40th Anniversary Achievement Award:

Catherine Connor, Senior Vice President, Director of Federal Government Affairs|WSP

Members of the Year:

Neela Babu, Associate Consultant | WSP and Brittney Gick | Transportation Research Board

Woman of the Year:

Honorable T. Bella Dinh-Zarr | National Transportation Safety Board

Employer of the Year:

Kittelson & Associates, Inc. 

Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award:


Honorable Ray LaHood Award:

Frederick G. "Bud" Wright, Executive Director | American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
©2011 WTS International. All Rights Reserved.