WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


Video Library

Visit our YouTube channel for a full library of transportation videos!


Hang with Us...

"Like" us on Facebook for daily scoop!


Follow Us!

Want in on the WTS info super-highway?  Follow @WTS_Org

Print tgus Page

Scholarships & Awards

2017 Recognition Award Winners

WTS-DC 2017 Recognition Award Winners

The mission of WTS is to “transform the transportation industry through the advancement of women.” At WTS-DC, we feel that education is a vital tool to facilitate that advancement, and every year, WTS-DC awards scholarships to deserving young women who are studying transportation at undergraduate and graduate programs in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. As a chapter, we believe that giving scholarships is one of the most important things we do.

Donate to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund

Please help us continue to support young women as they embark upon their career education in the transportation industry by making a tax-deductible donation to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund. Donations may be made via check or PayPal at the link above. Please make checks payable to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund and mail to:

WTS-DC Chapter
P.O. Box 34097
Washington, DC 20043

If you or your organization are interested in sponsoring a particular scholarship in whole or in part, please contact Maheen Aziz, WTS-DC Scholarship and Fundraising Chair to discuss options for doing so. Thank you for your support!

2017 WTS-DC Scholarship Awards

Application Period Now Closed; Deadline: Oct. 23, 2017

The 2017 WTS-DC scholarship application period is now closed. This year, we anticipate awarding a minimum of two graduate scholarships of up to $2,000 each, two undergraduate scholarships of up to $2,000 each, and one senior high school scholarship of up to $1,000.

Complete application packages must be received (not postmarked) by 5 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 23, 2017. The WTS-DC Chapter Board will select the recipients, notify all applicants of their decision, and nominate the Chapter’s winners for WTS International award consideration by Dec. 2, 2017. Recipients are invited to receive their scholarship and gain recognition at the WTS-DC 40th Anniversary & Holiday Party on Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2017 in Washington, D.C.

Recipients of the WTS-DC scholarships will then be nominated for WTS International recognitions—the Helene M. Overly Memorial Graduate Scholarship ($10,000), the Leadership Legacy Scholarship for Graduates ($5,000), the Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship ($5,000), the Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates ($5,000), and the Transportation YOU High School Scholarship ($1,000).

Please direct any questions to the wts.dc.scholarships@gmail.com.

The chapter's 2017 scholarship recipients (set out below) were honored at the WTS-DC Holiday Party on Dec. 5, 2017. 

2017 Scholarship Recipients

PhD: Elham Shayanfar, University of Maryland
Masters: Caitlin Boyle, Catholic University of America
Masters: Jennifer Hopkins, University of Maryland
Masters: Sofie Rhoads, University of Maryland
Undergraduate: Melissa Rossi, George Mason University
Undergraduate: Jill Smith, University of Maryland

2017 WTS-DC Recognition Awards

WTS-DC recognizes the area's leading women who have had a significant impact on transportation, as well as prominent men and distinguished organizations in our nation's capital—public or private—that support the development, growth and advancement of women in transportation.

The period for submitting nominations for the 2017 WTS-DC Recognition Awards is now closed. This year’s award categories are:

  • 40th Anniversary Achievement Award
  • Member of the Year Award
  • Woman of the Year Award
  • Honorable Ray LaHood Award
  • Employer of the Year Award
  • Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award
  • Innovative Transportation Solutions Award

Recipients will be honored at WTS-DC 40th Anniversary & Holiday Party on Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2017. 

The chapter’s 2017 recognition and scholarship award recipients (set out below) were honored at the WTS-DC Holiday Party on Dec. 5, 2017.

2017 Recongition Award Recipients

40th Anniversary Achievement Award: Catherine Connor, Senior Vice President, Director of Federal Government Affairs  | WSP
Members of the Year: Neela Babu, Associate Consultant | WSP and Brittney Gick | Transportation Research Board
Woman of the Year: Honorable T. Bella Dinh-Zarr | National Transportation Safety Board
Employer of the Year: Kittelson & Associates, Inc. 
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Kimley-Horn
Honorable Ray LaHood Award: Frederick G. "Bud" Wright, Executive Director | American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com