WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


Video Library

Visit our YouTube channel for a full library of transportation videos!


Hang with Us...

"Like" us on Facebook for daily scoop!


Follow Us!

Want in on the WTS info super-highway?  Follow @WTS_Org

Print tgus Page


WTS-DC Scholarships

The mission of WTS is to “transform the transportation industry through the advancement of women.” At WTS-DC, we feel that education is a vital tool to facilitate that advancement, and every year, WTS-DC awards scholarships to deserving young women who are studying transportation at undergraduate and graduate programs in the DC area. As a chapter, we believe that giving scholarships is one of the most important things we do.

2015 WTS-DC scholarship recipients with John Porcari of WSP | Parsons Brinkerhoff

Congratulations to our 2015 winners, who were honored at the WTS-DC Holiday Party on Dec. 9, 2015 with four scholarships totaling $6,000 (pictured above with former U.S. DOT Deputy Secretary John D. Porcari).

2016 WTS-DC Scholarship Application

The 2016-2017 WTS-DC scholarship application period is now open! This year, we anticipate awarding two graduate scholarships of up to $2,000 each, two undergraduate scholarships of up to $2,000 each, and one senior high school scholarship of up to $1,000.

Click here for the 2016-2017 WTS-DC scholarship announcement letter and application forms.

Complete application packages must be received (not postmarked) by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 17, 2016. The WTS-DC Chapter Board will select the recipients, notify all applicants of their decision, and nominate the Chapter’s winners for WTS International award consideration by Dec. 2, 2016. Recipients are invited to receive their scholarship and gain recognition at the WTS-DC Holiday Party in Washington, D.C. on the evening of Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2016.

Recipients of the WTS-DC scholarships will then be nominated for WTS International recognitions—the Helene M. Overly Memorial Graduate Scholarship ($10,000), the Leadership Legacy Scholarship for Graduates ($5,000), the Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship ($5,000), the Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates ($5,000), and the Transportation YOU High School Scholarship ($1,000).

For any questions, please contact WTS-DC Scholarship Co-Chairs Maheen Aziz at 202-366-8114 or Amanda Wall Vandegrift at 202-969-6487.

Donate to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund

Please help us continue to support young women as they embark upon their career education in the transportation industry by making a tax-deductible donation to the WTS-DC scholarship fund. Donations may be made via check or PayPal (click here to donate using PayPal). Please make checks payable to the WTS-DC Scholarship Fund and mail to:

WTS-DC Chapter
P.O. Box 34097
Washington, DC 20043

If you or your organization are interested in sponsoring a particular scholarship in whole or in part, please contact Amanda Wall Vandegrift, WTS-DC Scholarship Co-Chair, at Amanda.Vandegrift[at]hdrinc.com to discuss options for doing so. Thank you for your support!


WTS-DC Scholarship Recipients

PhD: Jeong Yun Kweun, George Mason University
PhD: Jina Mahmoudi, University of Maryland
Masters: Paquilla Jones, Howard University
Undergraduate: Maya Lieber, University of Maryland
PhD: Andrea Hamre, Virginia Tech National Capital Region
PhD: Eirini Kastrouni, University of Maryland
Masters: Daniela Barragan, George Mason University
Undergraduate: Emily Porter, The George Washington University

Graduate: Mersedeh Tariverdi, University of Maryland
Graduate: Angela Martinez, University of Maryland
Undergraduate: Casey Bessell, University of Maryland
Undergraduate: Terasa Vassallo, The George Washington University

Graduate: Kleoniki Vlachou, University of Maryland
Graduate: Jiranee Carr Elter,  George Mason University
Undergraduate: Genna Gold,  University of Maryland
Graduate: Elham Sharifi, University of Maryland
Undergraduate: Viona Miller, University of Maryland
Undergraduate: Claire Silverstein, The George Washington University
Graduate: Elizabeth Moreton, Virginia Tech National Capital Region
Graduate Honorable Mention: Renting Xu, University of Maryland
Undergraduate: Edna Ezell, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Masters Co-winner: Casey Morgan, George Mason University
Masters Co-winner: Lilly Shoup, University of Maryland
PhD Winner: Woon Kim, University of Maryland

Honorable Mention: Chao Liu, University of Maryland
Honorable Mention: Renting Xu, University of Maryland
Honorable Mention: Shenaye' Holmes, University of the District of Columbia
Graduate: Carolina Burnier, University of Maryland
Graduate Runner-up: Dina Ribbink, University of Maryland
Undergraduate: Shirley Penaloza, The George Washington University


| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com