WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


Video Library

Visit our YouTube channel for a full library of transportation videos!


Hang with Us...

"Like" us on Facebook for daily scoop!


Follow Us!

Want in on the WTS info super-highway?  Follow @WTS_Org

Print tgus Page

Recognition Awards


WTS-DC Recognitions Awards

WTS-DC recognizes the area's leading women who have had a significant impact on transportation, as well as prominent men and distinguished DC organizations -- public or private -- that support the development, growth, and advancement of women in transportation.

Previous WTS-DC Recognition Award Recipients

Member of the Year: Avital Barnea - Policy Analyst, Office of the Secretary, USDOT
Woman of the Year: Patricia Hendren - Consultant, former Director of the Office of Performance, WMATA
Man of the Year: Richard Sarles - General Manager and Chief Executive Officer, WMATA
Employer of the Year: Nspiregreen, LLC
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: U.S. Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx*
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: moveDC Plan (Colleen Hawkinson - Project Manager)

Member of the Year: Anne Stubbs - Executive Director, Coalition of Northeastern Governors
Woman of the Year: Deborah Hersman - Chairman, National Transportation Safety Board
Employer of the Year: Federal Transit Administration*
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Dr. Bryna Helfer - Director of Public Engagement, USDOT
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: I-395 Air Rights Environmental Assessment (STV, DDOT, and PGP)

Member of the Year: Anja Graves
Woman of the Year: Beverly Swaim-Staley*
Employer of the Year: Holland & Knight LLP
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Rep. Donna Edwards
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: I-495 Express Lanes Project (Virginia Department of Transportation and Transurban-Fluor)
Lifetime Achievement Award: Senator Barbara Boxer
Member of the Year: Greer J. Gillis - Assistant Vice President, Parsons Brinkerhoff
Woman of the Year: Lora Byala, AICP - President of Foursqaure Integrated Transportation Planning
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: McKissack & McKissack
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: Commercial Aviation Alternative Fuel Initiative (CAAFI)
Member of the Year: Jennifer Mitchell
Woman of the Year: Karen Rae*
Employer of the Year: Sharp & Company
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Lorraine Greene
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: DDOT Capital Bikeshare
Lifelong Leadership Advancing Women in Transportation: Honorable James Oberstar
Member of the Year: Sean Denniston - Transportation Industry Analyst, Office of Rulemaking, Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
Woman of the Year: Mariia Zimmerman, Senior Policy Director, Reconnecting America
Employer of the Year: Parsons Brinckerhoff
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB)
Member of the Year: Bonnie Shepherd - Vice President, Marketing, East Region, Hatch Mott MacDonald
Woman of the Year: Effie Stallsmith - Community Planner, Federal Transit Administration (FTA)
Employer of the Year: Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO)*
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: District Department of Transportation (DDOT) - South Capitol Street Bridge Rehabilitation

Member of the Year: Cathy Connor - Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, Parsons Brinkerhoff
Woman of the Year: Deborah Lipman – Director, Office of Policy and Gov't Relations, WMATA
Employer of the Year: Washington Metropolitan Transit Authority
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Parsons Brinkerhoff
Member of the Year: Christie Dawson - APTA
Woman of the Year: Cynthia J. Burbank - FHWA/FTA
Employer of the Year: HDR
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Bea E. Hicks - Senior Operations Manager, WMATA
Member of the Year: Sherry Ways - Transportation Planner, FHWA Office of Planning
Woman of the Year: Diana C. Mendes - Senior Vice President, DMJM Harris
Employer of the Year: Dewberry
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: Linda J. Washington - Acting Assistant Secretary, USDOT
Member of the Year: Margaret M. Ballard - Senior Transportation Planner, HDR
Woman of the Year: Anne Canby - President, Surface Transportation Policy Project*
Employer of the Year: Cairo Corporation
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award: American Public Transportation Association (APTA)
Member of the Year: Leigh Smythe Merino - Manager, Tire Technical Standards, Rubber Manufacturers Association
Woman of the Year: Mary E. Peters - Administrator, Federal Highway Administration*
Employer of the Year: Jacobs Civil Inc.
Woman of the Year: Edith Boyden - USDOT Volpe Center (retired)
Member of the Year: Jan Balkin - Safety Consultant, North American Driver Safety Foundation
Woman of the Year: Cynthia Burbank - Assoc. Administrator, Planning, Environment and Realty, FHWA
Employer of the Year: Federal Transit Administration
Member of the Year: Felicia Young - Team Leader of Research and Financial Services, Federal Highway (DOT) Office of Interstate Border Planning
Woman of the Year: Luz Hopewell - Former Director, Office of Small & Disadvantaged Business, USDOT

* WTS International Recognition Award Winner


| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com