WTS Chapters

Transportation YOU

Transportation YOU

A joint initiative with the Dept. of Transportation. Learn More »

Make a Donation

Picture1Executive Leaders

WTS offers executive leaders an opportunity to grow their business while supporting the industry.  Learn More »

Print tgus Page

Annual Awards

2016 Award Recipients:

Women of the Year: Norma Ortega, Caltrans

Employer of the Year: Placer County Department of Public Works and Facilities

Member of the Year: Kiana Valentine, California State Association of Counties

Secretary Ray LaHood: Will Kempton

Innovative Transportation Solutions Award: Stanislaus Council of Governments, Measure L 


2017 Award Applications are here! 


Do you know an amazing person in our transportation community?

The Sacramento Chapter of WTS would like to invite all chapter members and members of the Northern California transportation community to submit a nomination for the Annual Awards. 

Nominations are due no later than 5:00 PM on Friday, November 3, 2017. Don't miss your only opportunity this year to nominate a person or project for a WTS Sacramento Annual Award.
The Annual Awards are great ways to honor members of our transportation community who support our organization and its mission: the advancement of women in transportation

Award Nomination Information for 2017


Woman of the Year

Honors a woman who is an outstanding role model and has contributed to the advacement of women and minorities in transportation.

Application Deadline: November 3, 2017


Employer of the Year

Recognizes an organization (company, non-profit, association, or government agency) for recruiting, retaining, and advancing women.

Application Deadline: November 3, 2017


Secretary Ray LaHood Award

Honors a man who is a leader in transportation and has made an outstanding contribution toward the advancement of women and minorities in the transportation industry.

Application Deadline: November 3, 2017


Member of the Year

Recognizes a WTS member who has made extraordinary contributions to the success of the organization.

Application Deadline: November 3, 2017


Innovative Transportation Solutions Award

Honors an innovative transportation project or service led by a female.

Application Deadline: November 3, 2017


Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Awards

Honors an organization or individual that exhibits extraordinary efforts or initiatives in facilitating professional opportunities for women and minoirities; and that has made significant contributions in promoting diversity and cultural awareness within their organization, the transportaiton industry, or in a project or activity that supports the goals and mission of WTS.

Application Deadline: November 3, 2017


Awards recpients will be honored on January 2018 at our Annual Awards and Scholarship Dinner. The WTS Sacramento award winners will have their nominations forms forwarded to WTS International. Award winners from the international competition will to be presented during the WTS International Conference taking place May 2018 in San Diego! Previous award winners are listed on the WTS website (www.wtsinternational.org). 

For assistance or questions please contact the Recognitions Chair, Julie Passalacqua, at (916) 381-9100 or jpassalacqua@markthomas.com.

Please take the time to honor and recognize the outstanding members in our transportation industry.


| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com