WTS Chapters

Make a Donation

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »

Transportation YOU

Transportation YOU

A joint initiative with the Dept. of Transportation. Learn More »

Print tgus Page

Chapter Awards

We are currently accepting nominations for our 2020 awards! Please see the award descriptions and nomination forms in the links below for more details.  If you know a qualified candidate for one of these honors, please consider submitting a nomination. 

The 2020 awards will be presented at the Corporate Sponsor/Public Partner Appreciation Breakfast on September 10, 2019.  The winner of each award category will subsequently be submitted by our chapter to WTS International for possible award at the WTS International level.

Nominations for these award must be submitted to Jonathan Hren (jhren@msconsultants.com) by 11:59 pm ET on Friday, August 2nd, 2019.


The WTS Northeast Ohio Chapter is comprised of many individuals, sponsors and partners that make it one of the most rewarding and successful professional organizations in our industry.  The Northeast Ohio chapter recognizes the outstanding achievements of those individuals, companies, and organizations who have advanced and supported women in the transportation field. 

The WTS Northeast Ohio Chapter seeks to recognize those contributions through the following awards:

Please see the award descriptions and nomination forms linked above for more details.  If you know a Leader, Member, Employer or an Innovative Transportation Project led by a woman, please considering submitting a nomination. 

The following 2019 awards were be presented at the Corporate Sponsor and Public Partner Appreciation Breakfast on September 12, 2018 at the International Women’s Air and Space Museum. 

Innovative Transportation Solutions Award

Cleveland's Midway Cycle Track, which had key women in leadership positions, including:

Nancy Lyon-Stadler, WSP
Sharonda Whatley, City of Cleveland Planning
Barb Clint, Greater Cleveland YMCA
Eva Vargas, City of Cleveland Engineering and Construction
Melissa Thompson, NOACA


Cleveland’s Midway Cycle Track Design Concept and Plan is a highly innovative concept for a new protected bicycle facility that accommodates all ages and abilities within an urban context. Modeled after Cleveland’s HealthLine BRT, but carrying bicycles instead of buses, the Midway Cycle Track addresses operational safety issues associated with traditional cycle tracks. The Midway Cycle Track will be on a raised, landscaped median, providing a safe and comfortable bicycle facility in the middle of the road, with positive control of vehicle and bicycle movements at intersections. The Superior Avenue pilot corridor will launch Cleveland’s first Midway Cycle Track and provide proof of concept. It was awarded $8.3 million in CMAQ funding with construction planned for 2020.

Member of the Year Award
Valerie Shea, Director of Planning and Development, METRO RTA


Valerie is an integral contributor to so many of our organization’s committees and events. She currently serves as the Vice President of the Chapter, the co‐chair for our annual golf outing fundraiser for the last four years, key contributor to our Programs Committee, past Scholarship Committee chair, and current Scholarship Committee and 10 Year Anniversary Committee member. Valerie has worked tirelessly to plan and organize our Programs for the past four years where her efforts included developing the yearly budget, organizing speakers, coordinating the new registration system, marketing the events, and checking in attendees. Valerie also plays a key role behind the scenes. She is often the first to volunteer assistance when a need arises within the chapter. She fills in the gaps effortlessly and therefore has a hand in almost everything our chapter does. In summary, Valerie is truly an integral part of the organization and deserving of this honor.

Leadership Award

Al Biehl, Vice President, TranSystems


Al has been instrumental in his leadership of this organization, having been a board member since 2008. He helped program and has been the primary supporter of our annual DDD event. He has encouraged advancement of women with his support of female colleagues, in providing mentorship and being their champion as they consider professional changes. For these any many other reasons we are happy that Al is such a big part of this organization.


| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com