Print tgus Page

VIEW: Summary Month Week
July 2016
01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Monday, July 18, 2016

Nominations for 2016 Annual Awards Dinner

12:00 AM - 05:00 PM Pacific Standard Time

Nominations extended to July 18! WTS Los Angeles is currently seeking nominations for the following awards to be presented at its annual awards dinner. Submit your nominations today!


Photo courtesy of John Livzey
Do you know an exceptional leader in transportation? WTS Los Angeles is currently seeking nominations for the following awards to be presented at its annual ceremony:
  • Woman of the Year
  • Member of the Year
  • Employer of the Year
  • Innovation Transportation Solutions Award
  • Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award
  • Honorable Ray LaHood Award
Nominees for these awards come from WTS-LA members. Each member may offer one nomination for each award. Please take the time to honor and recognize those in our community who are outstanding leaders in the transportation industry and WTS.

The WTS Los Angeles Board of Directors will select the honorees by voting on qualified nominations. Awards will be presented at our Annual Scholarship and Awards Dinner on Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at the Millennium Biltmore in Los Angeles.
Please submit your nominations by no later than 5:00pm on Monday, July 18. Nominations received after the due date will not be presented to the board.
Below is a summary of each award and description of the nomination process. In preparing nominations, please address each of the awards criteria. 
This category is designed to reach beyond WTS-LA membership to honor an outstanding woman who is a role model in transportation. Through our choice for Woman of the Year, we can raise WTS visibility internationally and locally. It is not a reward for service to our organization. Selection of the WTS Woman of the Year shall be based on the following criteria:
  • A woman who is a leader in transportation and has made an outstanding contribution to the transportation industry.
  • A woman who has directly contributed to the advancement of women and minorities through programs or opportunities in the transportation field.
  • A woman who through her career achievements and support of women in the industry has advanced the reputation and credibility of women in transportation. 
Submit your nomination for Woman of the Year here.

This award is our opportunity to acknowledge a WTS-LA member who has made extraordinary contributions to the success of the organization. Selection will be based on the following criteria:
  • A member who has shown an extraordinary commitment to the goals and growth of WTS by working effectively in support of WTS goals.
  • A member who has promoted the reputation of WTS within the transportation industry.
  • A member who has worked effectively to strengthen communication between local and international WTS levels or between chapters.
A member who has done an outstanding job of revitalizing or expanding a chapter or any of its functions.
Submit your nomination for Member of the Year here.

This award is designed to honor an organization (company, non-profit, association, or government agency) for their support of the goals and purpose of WTS such as recruiting, retaining, and advancing women. It is not a reward for monetary contributions. Selection of Employer of the Year shall be based on the following criteria:
  • An organization that has enhanced the transportation industry through its commitment to excellence and quality in the services it provides or products it produces.
  • An organization with an outstanding record of affirmative action in hiring and promoting at all employment levels. (Nominations should include a brief description of the organization's structure, including the number of women in executive and senior positions and those leading major initiatives. Specify the career development plans and succession programs the organization has in place for women to advance within the organization.)
  • An organization that supports continuing education of its employees through:
    • Professional education
    • Professional organizations
    • Professional development opportunities
  • An organization that encourages women students to enter the transportation field by providing internship opportunities.
  • An organization that has supported WTS.(Nominations should include examples of support such as memberships, sponsorships, and employee involvement at the local and international levels.)
Submit your nomination for Employer of the Year here.

The ITSA award honors an innovative transportation project led by a woman. Selection for ITSA shall be based on the following criteria:
  • An innovative transportation initiative/solution/project/policy led by a woman. (Include in the nomination a description of the purpose of the transportation initiative, solution, project, or policy and the number and roles of women involved from initiation to completion.)
  • Successful Implementation of Project Elements. (Identify the key elements of the project and how the female project manager successfully implemented those elements.)
  • Surmounted Challenges. (Illustrate how the female project manager successfully met and overcame challenges.)
  • Project's Purpose Achieved. (Explain how the project achieved its purpose.) 
Submit your nomination for the Innovative Transportation Solutions Award here.

The Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award recognizes either an organization(s) or individual(s). Selection should be based on:
  • Exhibiting extraordinary efforts or initiatives in facilitating professional opportunities for women and minorities.
  • Contributing significantly to promoting diversity, inclusion, and multi-cultural awareness within their organization, the transportation industry, or in a project or activity that supports the goals and mission of WTS. 
Submit your nomination for the Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award here.

The Secretary Ray LaHood Award, was created to recognize men who are not only leaders in transportation, but who have also actively led by example in seeking opportunities to advance the association's mission, and have made outstanding contributions toward the advancement of women and minorities.

Submit your nomination for the Honorable Ray La Hood Award here.
Please complete and submit all nominations using the above links. All nominations shall be submitted electronically.
Be sure to include contact information as well as a description of the nominee's qualifications and special attributes for the award -- please describe how your nominee qualifies for the award based on each of the criteria. This information should be as comprehensive as possible. Full disclosure of the nominee's qualifications is an important means of assuring that the persons voting on the awards make informed choices.
Please submit your nominations by 5:00pm on Monday, July 18, 2016.
If you have any questions, please contact Tina Backstrom at: 
We look forward to receiving nominations from each member this year. Good luck to all!


Export to Outlook

| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by