WTS Chapters

Transportation YOU

Transportation YOU

A joint initiative with the Dept. of Transportation. Learn More »

Make a Donation

Picture1Executive Leaders

WTS offers executive leaders an opportunity to grow their business while supporting the industry.  Learn More »

Print tgus Page


The WTS Heart of Texas Chapter is pleased to offer the following scholarship for the 2014/2015 school year:

Gorrondona Scholarship: Promoting Young Women in Transportation – 4 available, each valued $2,500

All Gorrondona Scholarship applications must be received by Saturday, February 28, 2015.


The following scholarships for the 2014/2015 are no longer available, the recepients will be announced at our Gala in April:

Transportation YOU High School Scholarship - $500
WTS Junior College Scholarship - $500
Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship Application (Graduate Level) - $3,000
WTS Leadership Legacy Scholarship Application (Graduate Level) - $3,000
Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship Application (Undergraduate Level) - $1,500
Molitoris Leadership Scholarship Application (Undergraduate Level) - $1,500

Please check back in the Fall 2015 for the 2015-2016 scholarship applications.

Questions about the scholarship materials or the application process? 
Please contact Laura Friello, Heart of Texas Scholarship Chair, at 512-328-5771 or scholarship@wtshotchapter.org.
Congratulations to Our 2013 Scholarship Winners

Transportation YOU High School Scholarship


Kathryn Bickley, Garza High School.  Kathryn is currently a senior at Garza High School in Austin, Texas. A native Austinite, Kathryn has had first hand experience her whole life in the importance of proper transportation planning in her rapidly growing hometown.  She has always loved environmental science and believes that the study of the environment and transportation are closely interrelated. Pursing a career in transportation engineering provides an opportunity to blend both of these passions.  She is vice-president of the Garza Academic Society and is in the top 5 percent of her graduating class. Outside of school Kathryn enjoys running on the trails around Austin and travelling. Kathryn has been accepted into the honors program at Texas A&M University. She plans to attend A&M in the fall and major in engineering.


Sharon D. Banks Scholarship


Lia Martinez de Armendariz, New Mexico State University.  A small northern New Mexico mountain town, by the name of Canjilon, is where Lia calls home. Her small town roots and strong family support have helped her become the successful woman she is today. Starting in 2009, she decided to pursue a degree in Civil Engineering Technology at New Mexico State University (NMSU). During her academic career she has had the opportunity to intern with the United States Department of Agriculture in the Carson National Forest as a Civil Engineer.  Through this internship she was introduced to and was involved in different transportation projects that sparked her interest.

Lia is a member of the Associated General Contractors Chapter at NMSU and competed in the 2014 ASC competition. With an anticipated graduation date of August 2014, Lia is looking forward to what the world has in store for her and the experience the transportation field will offer. Outside of school Lia loves to be outdoors and work on the ranch.  She also enjoys music, singing and spending time with family.


Helen M. Overly Scholarship


Meredith Cebelak, University of Texas at Austin. Meredith, a registered P.E. in the State of Florida, had over 10 years of experience in the private sector before returning to school to pursue her Master’s and PhD at the University of Texas at Austin.  As a graduate assistant, she is investigating the use of intelligent transportation system (ITS) solutions to address transportation needs in the Texas Department of Transportation’s Austin District. 

As an active member of the transportation community, Meredith is a member of the student chapter of WTS and has actively supported several Heart of Texas chapter committees. She has served as the vice president of membership development for the student chapter of ITS America and is the current past president of the student chapter of the Institute of Transportation Engineers.  Meredith was appointed by the Center of Transportation Research’s director in 2012 to serve as the student representative for the Center’s Employee Council Committee.  Meredith received the Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship from FHWA in 2012 and was selected to represent the University of Texas at Austin at Eno’s 21st Annual Leadership Development Conference in 2013.


WTS Dana Hook Leadership Legacy Scholarship

adrianAdrian Lipscombe, University of Texas at Austin. Adrian is currently a Ph.D. student in the Community and Regional Planning program at the University of Texas at Austin, concentrating her studies on all aspects of sustainable transportation. Concurrently, she continues as a Planner in the Public Works Department for the City of Austin, where she focuses on accessibility, bike route directness, and continuity to raise the level of cycling and walking for daily travel and improve cycling and pedestrian safety through expanding infrastructure while raising awareness about "muscle-powered" transportation. She also plays a major role in the development of the bike share systems in San Antonio and Austin. 

Adrian obtained a B.A. in Architecture and a Master’s degree in Architecture with a certificate in Urban and Regional Planning at the University of Texas at San Antonio. She currently is the president of the WTS Heart of Texas Student Chapter at the University of Texas at Austin. She is also a member of the American Institute of Architecture Associates and the American Planning Association.

Congratulations to our past winners!


  • Marisol Castro--Leadership Legacy Scholarship for Graduates
  • Donna Chen--Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship
  • Alexis Clark--Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates
  • Jaclyn Smith--Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Priyanka Kansal--Community College/Technical/Trade School Scholarship
  • Stephanie Martinez-Arndt--Transportation YOU High School Scholarship


  • Katherine Kortum--Leadership Legacy Scholarship for Graduates
  • Yiyi Wang--Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship
  • Kaisha Plambeck--Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship


  • Pierrette Crisp--Leadership Legacy Scholarship for Graduates
  • Katherine Larsen--Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship
  • Melissa Duell--Ann Irwin Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates
  • Stephanie Duell--Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship


  • Ana Davila--Ann Irwin Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates
  • Sehin Faris--Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Lauren Gardner--Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship
  • Katherine Kortum--Elaine Dezenski – President’s Legacy Scholarship


  • Alison Mills--Ann Irwin Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates
  • Sabina Mora--Elaine Dezenski – President’s Legacy Scholarship
  • Ipek Sener--Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship
  • Charlotte Whitehead--Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship


  • Bin (Brenda) Zhou--Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship
  • Jennifer Duthie--Ann Koby – President’s Legacy Scholarship
  • Charlotte Whitehead--Ann Irwin Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates
  • Silvia Ruiz--Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship


  • Rachael Stensrud--Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates
  • Lindsay Liggett--Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Xiaokun Wang--Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship






| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com