WTS Chapters

Make a Donation

Picture1Executive Leaders

WTS offers executive leaders an opportunity to grow their business while supporting the industry.  Learn More »


DBE Members

Full Directory-->

Print tgus Page

WTS-Boston 22nd Annual Golf Outing

August 22, 2014 04:55 PM

By Angela DeFrancesco, Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.

On Thursday, August 7th,  an unprecedented 100 golfers (WTS members and friends), including MassDOT Secretary of Transportation and Chief Executive Officer, Richard A. Davey, came out to enjoy a beautiful day of fun at the Wayland Country Club for a 9-hole scramble. This year, WTS enlisted four experienced member golfers to offer helpful insider tips to fellow golfers during registration.  A sizable gathering of players – experienced, non-experienced, and the curious – participated in these informal “clinics.” Kristen Whitman (Jacobs) offered her well-honed tips on pre-warm up, basic fundamentals and pre-shot routine. Stan Elkerton (City Point Partners) attracted a following with his humor-laced tips on golf etiquette, including creating a helpful handout of key etiquette tips presented in a comical format. Mark Pelletier (STV) shared his “pro style” golf swing technique whileLydia Rivera (LydRiv Communications)offered her “soft” tips of the game on the importance of proper attire, pre-game checklist, and  helpful essentials that should be found in every golf bag. The insider team did an excellent job and they enjoyed the opportunity to engage the audience!

Awards were presented for 1st and 2nd place teams as well as longest drive and closest to the pin. Congratulations to the winners!

1st Prize Winning Team
Christine Mizioch, LM Heavy Civil Construction, LLC
Karin Marshall, SPS New England, Inc.
Michelle Lemoi, Lemoi Erectors, Inc.
Laura Hood, SPS New England, Inc.

2nd Prize Winning Team
Heather Hamilton, MassDOT
Lindsey Hamilton, Deep Brook Golf Course
Owen Kane, MassDOT
David Simard, Deep Brook Golf Course

Closest to the Pin/Longest Drive Winners
Christer Ericsson, Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.
Karin Marshall, SPS New England, Inc.
Natasha Vargas, Tetra Tech
Lindsey Hamilton

This event could not have happened without the generous support of sponsors and enthusiastic participation of the players. Participants purchased raffle tickets and mulligan sales, and organizations sponsored the WTS-Boston Scholarship Fund by adopting a hole. A huge “thank you” goes out to the following organizations for contributing to the Adopt-A-Hole program:

  • Bryant Associates, Inc.
  • Construction Industries of Massachusetts
  • Fay, Spofford & Thorndike
  • Fitzgerald & Halliday, Inc.
  • GEI Consultants
  • Geocomp
  • Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.
  • HDR Engineering, Inc.
  • Nover-Armstrong Associates, Inc.
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc.
  • Tetra Tech

After the outing, participants enjoyed a delicious grilled steak tip and chicken buffet as the winning raffle ticket prizes were drawn. Over 30 raffle prizes were generously donated and those with winning tickets received restaurant gift certificates, spa packages, golf clubs and accessories, Red Sox tickets, wine, and a round of golf. Thank you to the following firms and individuals for their raffle prize donations:

  • CDM Smith
  • City Point Partners
  • ESS Laboratories
  • Fay, Spofford & Thorndike
  • GEI Consultants
  • Gill Engineering
  • Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.
  • HDR Engineering
  • Howard/Stein-Hudson Associates, Inc.
  • J.F. White
  • Jacobs
  • Kennedy-Jenks
  • M.C. Spiedo Ristorante & Bar
  • Marriot
  • Michael Baker Jr., Inc.
  • Mission Focused Alliance
  • Nitsch Engineering
  • Nover-Armstrong Associates, Inc.
  • Sarah Dennechuk
  • Steere Engineering
  • STV, Incorporated
  • Wayland Country Club

Professional Development committee co-chairs Elizabeth Musacchio of Parsons Brinckerhoff and Carrie Lavallee of MassDOT would also like to acknowledge the following committee members for their hard work in pulling together a great event: Sheila Warren of Maher Services, Angela DeFrancesco of GPI, Jackie Carver of Howard/Stein-Hudson, David Whall of Geocomp, Michael Pelletier of Geocomp, and Erin Pacileo of McMahon Associates. Thanks also to our amazing volunteers Marta Nover and Marylou Armstrong and the other employees of Nover-Armstrong Associates, Inc.; our fabulous insiders team, Mark Pelletier of STV, Kristen Whitman of Jacobs, Lydia Rivera of LydRiv Communications and Stan Elkerton of City Point Partners; and our Board Liaison Irene Shea of the MBTA.


Caption: Lydia Rivera, LydRiv Communications; Sara Lavoie, MassDOT; Richard A. Davey, MassDOT; Cyndi Gonzalez, MassDOT


Caption: Irene Shea, MBTA; Susie Bailey, HDR; Shannon Reilly, Construction Industries of Massachusetts;

Rachael Sack, USDOT/Volpe


Caption: Kristine Gorman, STV Incorporated; Justin Robichaud, Geocomp; Cynthia Carleo, Geocomp; Mark Pelletier, STV Incorporated



| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com