WTS Chapters

Make a Donation

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »


DBE Members

Full Directory-->

Print tgus Page

WTS-Boston 2015 Awards Call for Nominations

WTS-Boston 2015 Awards

The WTS-Boston Scholarship and Awards Committee is seeking nominations for five local awards to be presented at the WTS-Boston annual awards dinner in June of 2015. Winners will be forwarded on to WTS International for consideration for International awards to be presented in May of 2015 at the WTS Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois. 

Award Criteria

Claire Barrett Member of the Year

This award is our opportunity to acknowledge a WTS-Boston member who has made extraordinary contributions to the success of the organization. Selection will be based on the following criteria:

  1. A member who has shown an extraordinary commitment to the goals and growth of WTS by working effectively in support of WTS goals. (Identify activities.)
  2. A member who has promoted the reputation of WTS within the transportation industry. (Include an explanation describing how and what was done.)
  3. A member who has worked effectively to strengthen communication between local and international WTS levels or between chapters.
  4. A member who has done an outstanding job of revitalizing or expanding a chapter or any of its functions.

Current members of the International Board of Directors should not be considered for Member of the Year.

Click here for the Claire Barrett Member of the Year nomination form.

Woman of the Year

This category is designed to reach out beyond our membership to honor a woman who is an outstanding role model in transportation. Through our choice we can raise WTS visibility nationally and in our local communities. It is not a reward for service to our organization. Selection of the WTS Woman of the Year shall be based on the following criteria:

  1. A woman who is a leader in transportation and has made an outstanding contribution to the transportation industry.
  2. A woman who has directly contributed toward the advancement of women and minorities through programs or opportunities in the transportation field.
  3. A woman who through her career achievements and support of women in the industry has advanced the reputation and credibility of women in transportation.

Click here for the Woman of the Year nomination form.

Employer of the Year
(Please note new requirements this year)

This award honors an organization (company, non-profit, association or government agency) for recruiting, retaining and advancing women. Applications/nominations for Employer of the Year should include the following:

  1. Describe the organization’s structure, including the number of women in executive and senior positions and those leading major initiatives.
  2. Specify the career development plans and succession programs the organization has in place for women to advance within the organization.
  3. Describe and provide example(s) of how the organization provides continuing development for its female employees through:
    • Professional education
    • Professional organizations
    • Professional development opportunities
  4. Describe and provide example(s) of how the organization encourages women students to enter the transportation field by providing internship opportunities.
  5. Describe and provide example(s) of how the organization supports WTS through memberships, sponsorships, and employee involvement at the local and international levels.

Click here for the Employer of the Year nomination form.

WTS Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award

This award is presented to recognize an individual(s) or organization(s) that have exhibited outstanding and extraordinary efforts or initiative(s) in developing opportunities for women and minorities and has contributed significantly to promoting diversity and cultural awareness. Selection shall be based on:

  1. Exhibiting extraordinary efforts or initiatives in facilitating professional opportunities for women and minorities.
  2. Contributing significantly to promoting diversity, inclusion and multi-cultural awareness within their organization, the transportation industry, or in a project or activity that supports the goals and mission of WTS.

Click here for the WTS Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award nomination form.

Innovative Transportation Solutions Award
(Please note new requirements this year)

This award salutes an innovative transportation project led by a woman. Applications/nominations for the Innovative Transportation Solutions award should include the following:

  1. Describe the purpose of the transportation initiative, solution, project or policy and the number of women involved from initiation to completion.
  2. Identify the key elements of the project and how the female project manager successfully implemented those elements.
  3. Illustrate how the female project manager successfully met and overcame challenges.
  4. Explain how the project achieved its purpose.

Click here for the Innovative Transportation Solutions nomination form.

Submittal Requirements

  1. Use the attached nomination summary forms and supplemental information forms to submit each nomination.  Both the one page nomination summary form and two page maximum supplemental information form will serve as your local award nomination.  For the winners that will be forwarded to be considered for the International Awards, only the one-page summary will serve as your award nomination.
  2. The nomination package must be typed and saved as a Word document in 12-point Times New Roman font with 1 inch margins.
  3. The supplemental information should include a description of the nominee’s qualifications and special attributes for the award, especially as they relate to each of the award criteria. This information should be as comprehensive as possible. Full disclosure of the nominee’s qualifications is an important means of assuring that the persons voting on the awards make informed choices.

The nomination, AS SUBMITTED, will be scanned and sent out with the ballot. No more than two pages for the supplemental information forms will be included for each nomination.

Please note that current WTS-Boston Chapter Board members are not eligible to receive awards.

For questions or more information please contact:

Marie Sullivan (mjsullivan@fstinc.com) or  Susie Siden Bailey (susie.bailey@hdrinc.com )

Please submit your applications by Friday, December 19, 2014 to: Marie Sullivan (mjsullivan@fstinc.com)

2015 Awards Schedule

  • December 19, 2014 – Nominations due
  • January 14, 2015 – Local award winners selected
  • January 19, 2015 – Local award winners notified
  • January 26, 2015 – Winning nominations submitted to WTS International
  • March 16, 2015 – International award winners selected
  • May 21, 2015 - Presentation of Awards at WTS Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois
  • June 2015 – Local Awards presented at WTS-Boston Annual Scholarships and Awards Dinner in Boston


| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com