WTS Chapters


DBE Members

Full Directory-->

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »

Make a Donation

Print tgus Page

WTS-Boston 2012 Awards


The WTS-Boston Scholarship and Awards committee is seeking nominations for five local awards to be presented at the WTS-Boston annual awards dinner in June of 2012. Winners will be forwarded on to WTS International for consideration for International awards to be presented in May of 2012 at the annual conference in Denver, Colorado.   


Award Criteria

Claire Barrett Member of the Year

This award is our opportunity to acknowledge a WTS-Boston member who has made extraordinary contributions to the success of the organization. Selection will be based on the following criteria:

1.    A member who has shown an extraordinary commitment to the goals and growth of WTS by working effectively in support of WTSgoals. (Identify activities).

2.    A member who has promoted the reputation of WTSwithin the transportation industry. (Include an explanation describing how and what was done.)

3.    A member who has worked effectively to strengthen communication between local and international WTSlevels or between chapters.

4.    A member who has done an outstanding job of revitalizing or expanding a chapter or any of its functions.

Members of the International Board of Directors should not be considered for Member of the Year merely because they have made significant current contributions to their local chapters.

Click here for the Claire Barrett Member of the Year nomination form.


Woman of the Year

This category is designed to reach out beyond our membership to honor a woman who is an outstanding role model in transportation. Through our choice we can raise WTS visibility nationally and in our local communities. It is not a reward for service to our organization. Selection of the WTS Woman of the Year shall be based on the following criteria:

1.    A woman who is a leader in transportation and has made an outstanding contribution to the transportation industry.

2.    A woman who has directly contributed toward the advancement of women and minorities through programs or opportunities in the transportation field.

3.    A woman who through her career achievements and support of women in the industry has advanced the reputation and credibility of women in transportation.

Click here for the Woman of the Year nomination form.


Employer of the Year

This award is designed to honor businesses for their support of the goals and purpose of WTS. It is not a reward for monetary contributions. Selection of Employer of the Year shall be based on the following criteria:

1.    An organization that has enhanced the transportation industry through its commitment to excellence and quality in the services it provides or products it produces.

2.    An organization with an outstanding record of affirmative action in hiring and promoting at all employment levels.

3.    An organization that supports continuing education of its employees through:

·         Professional education

·         Professional organizations

·         Professional development opportunities

4.    An organization that encourages women students to enter the transportation field by providing internship opportunities.

5.    An organization that has supported WTS.

Click here for the Employer of the Year nomination form.


WTS Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award

This award is presented to recognize an individual(s) or organization(s) that have exhibited outstanding and extraordinary efforts or initiative(s) in developing opportunities for women and minorities and has contributed significantly to promoting diversity and cultural awareness. Selection shall be based on:

1.    Exhibiting extraordinary efforts or initiatives in facilitating professional opportunities for women and minorities.

2.    Contributing significantly to promoting diversity, inclusion and multi-cultural awareness within their organization, the transportation industry, or in a project or activity that supports the goals and mission of WTS.


Click here for the WTS Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award nomination form.

                                       &nb​sp;                        &nb​sp;                        &nb​sp;                        &nb​sp;   Innovative Transportation Solutions Award

This award salutes the creative work of an outstanding and innovative transportation project or service that improves the quality of life for its users and the community. Selection shall be based on the following criteria:

1.    Describe an outstanding local project and specifically how the transportation element of the program has contributed to the success of the initiative.

2.    Identify how the project supports one or more key community values, such as improved accessibility to key services, employment, or other opportunities.

3.    Describe what obstacles, if any, were overcome to provide this service or build this project.

4.    Explain how it has made a difference in the lives of its users.

Click here for the Innovative Transportation Solutions nomination form.


Submittal Requirements

1.    Use the attached nomination forms to submit the nominations. Please provide an overview of the nominee’s background and experience in the “introduction” section. Then describe how the candidate meets each individual criterion.

2.    The nomination cannot exceed two pages in length. Any pages beyond the second page will NOT be included in the ballot.

3.    On the top of the first page of each nomination state the following: (a) name of the award, (b) name,  address, phone number and chapter (if applicable) of the nominee, and (c) name, address, phone number and chapter of the nominator. This should be followed by a description of the nominee’s qualifications and special attributes for the award, especially as they relate to each of the award criteria. This information should be as comprehensive as possible. Full disclosure of the nominee’s qualifications is an important means of assuring that the persons voting on the awards make informed choices. The nominee’s name should be at the top of page two. Nomination forms are attached.


The nomination, AS SUBMITTED, will be scanned and sent out with the ballot. No more than two pages will be included for each nomination.


Nomination forms should be submitted via e-mail in Word or PDF format.


For questions or more information please contact:


Lindsey Morse (lindsey.morse@dot.gov) or Sasha Wood (sasha.wood@tetratech.com).


Please submit your applications by Friday, January 6, 2012.


Sasha Wood

Tetra Tech

One Grant Street

Framingham, MA  01701




·  &​nbsp;      January 6, 2012 – Nominations due

·         January 23, 2012 – Local award winners selected

·         January 30, 2012 – Winning nominations submitted to WTS International

·         March 14, 2012 – International award winners selected

·         May 18, 2012 – International Awards presented at WTS Annual Conference in Denver

·         June 2012 – Local Awards presented at WTS-Boston Annual Scholarships and Awards Dinner in Boston




| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com