WTS Chapters

Membership Benefits


Find opportunity in the transportation industry. Join today »

Transportation YOU

Transportation YOU

A joint initiative with the Dept. of Transportation. Learn More »

Make a Donation

Print tgus Page

2014 WTS-Boston June Awards and Scholarship Dinner

July 7, 2014 09:37 AM

WTS-Boston held the 2014 June Awards and Scholarship Dinner at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel on June 4, 2014. The festive event was well attended by WTS members, guests, and award winners and their families. Mr. Robert C. Johns and Senator Karen E. Spilka provided opening remarks.  Mr. Johns serves as Director and Associate Administrator of the U.S. Department of Transportation John A. Volpe National Transportation Systems Center, and Senator Spilka is Senate Chair of the Metrowest Legislative Caucus, the Biotech Legislative Caucus, and the Tech Hub Caucus.

WTS-Boston awarded three scholarships and four awards throughout the evening, with many recipients thanking their mentors, sharing their stories of success, and discussing their inspiring plans for the future.  We wish the 2014 scholarship and award winners continued success in their studies and careers as they continue to make a positive impact on the transportation industry.

Awards and recipients include:

Innovative Solutions Awardpresented to the 1st in Nation “Carbon Neutral” Airport Project, MassDOT, Nantucket Memorial Airport, USDOT / Volpe Center

The U.S. Department of Transportation Volpe Center and the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) are working to create the first ever airport with "carbon neutral" ground operations in the United States. The Nantucket Airport received Federal Aviation Administration sustainability/low emission funding to support the project. Volpe staff were well positioned to leverage their expertise and provide valuable recommendations to the Nantucket Airport program, including evaluating proposal submissions from energy service companies, providing independent energy modeling/ auditing and tracking for a greenhouse gas inventory.

Employer of the Yearawarded to Fay, Spofford & Thorndike (FST)

Through the years FST has worked on high-profile signature public works projects in the Northeast including the Sagamore and Bourne Bridges. FST's leadership focuses on maintaining technical excellence and client service, while still adapting to changing times and industry trends. Out of 22 promotions last year, 10 were women, including five women elevated to senior-level positions. FST is a strong supporter of WTS-Boston, serving as an Executive Sponsor and contributing committee members and chairpersons.

Claire Barrett Member of the Year Awardpresented to Loretta Girard Doughty, P.E. Structural Sections Manager at HDR Engineering, Inc.

Loretta is an exceptional leader and strong advocate for WTS. Loretta has been an active member of the organization since 1997, starting as a committee member and ultimately becoming President in 2009-2010. Since her Presidency, she has served on the Advisory Board, the Nominating Committee for the Board of Directors, the Public Art Committee, and as a Mentor for the WTS-Boston Mentoring Program. Loretta is committed to the goals and growth of WTS and continues to promote the value of WTS and the role of women within the transportation indutsry.

Woman of the Year Awardpresented to Dr. Beverly A. Scott, PH.D. General Manager of the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA) and MassDOT Rail & Transit Administrator

Dr. Beverly Scott was awarded Women of the Year at both the WTS-Boston and WTS International level this year. Over the past year and a half, Dr. Scott has been a true transit leader in Boston. Dr. Scott was appointed MBTA General Manager and MassDOT Rail & Transit Administrator in 2012. Dr. Scott is responsible for managing the MBTA and overseeing the Commonwealth's 15 Regional Transit Authorities and MassDOT's freight and passenger rail program. Dr. Scott is well known throughout the North American transit industry for her leadership and results-driven management style. Dr. Scott has been named a "Transportation Innovator of Change" by President Barack Obama and the U.S. DOT for her extensive record of leadership and service to the industry.

Dr. Scott currently serves on the national Boards of Reconnecting America, Rail-Volution as Vice Chair, the Transportation Learning Center, Americans for Transit, and Executive Committee of the Transportation Research Board, National Academies of Science.

WTS- Boston 2014 Scholarship Winners

Brittany Montgomery, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) - Doctorate Candidate in Urban Studies - Ann M. Hershfang Graduate Scholarship

Brittany Montgomery holds a Bachelor in Science in Civil Engineering from MIT, and a dual Masters Degree in Transportation Engineering and City Planning from the University of California Berkeley. Brittany is currently a Ph.D. candidate in Urban Studies at MIT, with a concentration in International Development. She is a member of TRB's Developing Countries Committee, as well as a WTS International Committee member working to form a new WTS chapter in Brazil. Brittany was recommended as an "innovative and dedicated young women. As a recipient of this award, she will continue to grow as a leader in the field of transportation who exemplifies the goals of WTS."

Sushma Srinivas, University of Massachusetts (UMass) Lowell - Doctorate Candidate in Transportation Engineering - Claire Barrett Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Sushma Srinivas is a Ph.D. student in the UMASS Lowell Transportation Engineering program. Sushma’s goal is to become a transportation researcher and teacher. Sushma is President of the UMASS Lowell Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) Student Chapter, and hopes to develop a WTS student chapter at UMASS. Sushma is self-motivated and has a perfect GPA of 4.0. Sushma developed a transportation lecture series with speakers from U.S. DOT and MassDOT. The series "stimulate[d] a genuine interest amongst students toward transportation engineering."

Sarah Ann Cote, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) – Bachelor Civil Engineering (Transportation Concentration) - Jacquelyn R. Smith Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship

Sarah Ann Cote recently graduated from WPI Worcester with a Bachelor's Degree in Civil Engineering with a Transportation Concentration. Sarah was recently initiated into the Chi Epilson Civil Engineering Honor Society, and is the Chapter President of the WPI American Society of Civil Engineers (WPI ASCE). One of Sarah's professors described her as "among a select group of intellects and professionals capable of providing an impetus for significant advancement in her field." 

June Awards 2014

(L-R: Rachael Sack, WTS-Boston Vice President; Chris Willenborg and Katie Riley Servis, MassDOT Aeronautics Division; David Arthur, Volpe Center; Noah Karberg, Nantucket Memorial Airport; Beverly A. Scott, Ph.D., MassDOT/MBTA; Loretta Girard Doughty, P.E., HDR Engineering, Inc.; Peter J. Howe, P.E., FST; Alison Plant Lima, WTS-Boston President) 



| ©2011 WTS. All rights reserved. | Website design and development by Americaneagle.com